The CFNU Logo
September 11, 2023

Letter: Solidarity with members of la Fédération interprofessionnelle de la santé du Québec (FIQ)

September 8, 2023

Julie Bouchard, President
Fédération interprofessionnelle de la santé du Québec
By email:

Dear Sister Julie,

We are writing today to express our solidarity with members of la Fédération interprofessionnelle de la santé du Québec (FIQ) as you negotiate for a long-overdue fair collective agreement.

Please send a message to your members that the over 250,000 frontline nurses represented by the Canadian Federation of Nurses Unions (CFNU) stand behind them. Nursing unions from across Canada support FIQ’s mobilization in bargaining, and we can’t agree more that “Y’a des limits!”

Every single province and territory is struggling to cope with an unpresented critical shortage of nurses. Access to quality public health care is a basic human right, and the country-wide health human resources crisis is a major threat to this right. All levels of government need to focus and work with frontline nurses.

We wish to offer our support to Quebec nurses and hope the employer will return to the bargaining table and re-start meaningful negotiations. It’s time for the government to listen to the solutions nurses are putting forward and protect our health care system.

If there is anything the CFNU can do, please let us know.

In solidarity always,

Linda Silas, President
Canadian Federation of Nurses Unions

Angela Preocanin, Secretary-Treasurer
Canadian Federation of Nurses Unions

Barbara Brookins, President
Prince Edward Island Nurses’ Union

Erin Ariss, President
Ontario Nurses’ Association

Yvette Coffey, President
Registered Nurses’ Union
Newfoundland & Labrador

Darlene Jackson, President
Manitoba Nurses Union

Janet Hazelton, President
Nova Scotia Nurses’ Union

Tracy Zambory, President
Saskatchewan Union of Nurses

Paula Doucet, President
New Brunswick Nurses Union

Heather Smith, President
United Nurses of Alberta

Adriane Gear, President
British Columbia Nurses’ Union

Tristan Newby, Vice-President
British Columbia Nurses’ Union

Danielle Larivee, Vice-President
United Nurses of Alberta

Dawn Armstrong, Vice-President
Ontario Nurses’ Association

 Eyasu Yakob, President
Canadian Nursing Students’ Association